Case Western Directory

Navigation + Search
Home / About the College / About the Dean

About the Dean

Dean Cyrus C. TaylorCyrus C. Taylor, PhD, is the dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and the Albert A. Michelson Professor in Physics at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio. He joined the Case Western Reserve faculty in 1988, and was chair of the physics department from 2005 until he was appointed dean in 2006.

Taylor’s university service as an administrator began soon after he arrived on campus in 1988. He served as chair of the Undergraduate Admissions Committee from 1989 to 1995. He has been a member of the Faculty Senate, and served as chair of the Senate’s Budget Committee, as well as a member of the SAGES Implementation Task Force. He has served as a member of the Steering Committee of the Academic Careers in Engineering & Science (ACES) program at CWRU, which was the first private university to be funded by the National Science Foundation ADVANCE program to promote the full participation of women at all levels of faculty and academic leadership.

Taylor earned his doctorate from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. A former Truman Scholar, Lilly Foundation Teaching Fellow, and John Simon Guggenheim Fellow, he has published more than 60 papers and given more than 70 invited talks in recent years. As a physicist, Taylor has worked in both theoretical and experimental high-energy physics, serving as co-spokesman of the MiniMax collaboration (FNAL T-864) at Fermilab and as co-spokesman of the FELIX collaboration at CERN.

Taylor is well known for his leadership in creating innovative programs aimed at empowering scientists as entrepreneurs. He created and directed the Physics Entrepreneurship Program (PEP), which he helped expand to include other science departments (Biology/Biotechnology, Chemistry, and Mathematics) into the now internationally known Science Technology and Entrepreneurship Program (STEP) at Case Western Reserve. In 2002 he was named a Fellow of the American Physical Society for providing a new paradigm for graduate education in physics through the creation of an innovative Physics Entrepreneurship Master’s Program, and in 2003 was awarded the prestigious Price Institute Innovative Entrepreneurship Educators Award, presented by the Stanford Roundtable on Entrepreneurship Education for pioneering the innovative PEP.

Connect with Dean Taylor via his Facebook page.

Page last modified: June 14, 2013